AFP 334H98T

The Argentina vs France FIFA World Cup final at the Lusail Stadium moved to extra time after the score was level 2-2.

Lionel Messi and Angel Di Maria scored in the first half before Kylian Mbappe found the net two times in the second half to force the game into extra time.

The teams will play 30 minutes of football before the game moves to a penalty shootout.

Argentina Penalty Shootouts

Won 3-2 vs Yugoslavia – Quarterfinal 1990

Won 4-3 vs Italy – Semifinal 1990

Won 4-3 vs England – Round of 16 1998

Lost 2-4 vs Germany – Quarterfinal 2006

Won 4-2 vs Netherlands – Semifinal 2014

Won 4-3 vs Netherlands – Quarterfinal 2022

France Penalty Shootout

Lost 7-8 vs Germany – Semifinal 1982

Won 4-3 vs Brazil – Quarterfinals 1986

Won 4-3 vs Italy – Quarterfinals 1998

Lost 4-6 vs Italy – Final 2006

France has played four penalty shootouts in World Cups and won two. The last time it faced a shootout was in a World Cup was the final of 2006. It lost 6-4 to Italy.

Eight years back, in 1998, France played the penalties in the quarterfinals against Italy, winning this one. The other two shootouts for France were in 1986 against Brazil which it won, and in 1982 against Germany which it lost.

Argentina has played a penalty shootout in the World Cup six times, winning it five times. Its latest shootout came in the quartefinal of the Qatar World Cup where it beat the Netherlands.

It is one the more successful sides in shootouts with a success rate of 80%.

The South Americans have won shootouts against Netherlands in 2014, England in 1998, Italy and Yugoslavia in 1990. The side’s only loss at the spot kick roulette came in 2006 at the hands of Germany in the quartefinals.

More to follow…